Hot in Cleveland

This show is in it’s second season.  I didn’t watch it last season.  I know, you’re wondering why not.  Clearly it looks like such an awesome show, one I wouldn’t want to miss.  I guess I just didn’t have time for it what with work, school, volunteering, and of course, the other shows I needed to watch who’s priority I ranked higher.  I remember once my mom watched an episode and I glanced at it and remarked that it looked like a sitcom for all the people who’s sitcoms were no longer on.

But I realized that the sitcoms they used to be on were sitcoms that I liked.  Jane Leeves was Daphne on Frasier.  I loved Frasier.  Maybe it’s cause I’m a Psyc major, or maybe it’s cause it was awesome.  Wendie Malick was Nina on Just Shoot Me, which I also loved.  Betty White was Rose on Golden Girls.  And yes, I’m not ashamed to say I’ve watched that too.  Valerie Bertinelli was Barbara on One Day at a Time, which was before my time.  I remember her Jenny Craig commercials though, does that count?

I decided to watch today’s episode.  In this episode, Betty White’s character has run off to avoid jail time.  Where does she go in order to be cut off from the rest of the world?  To live with the Amish of course.  At one point, they find themselves in a bar, where they naturally get a lot of looks from the men.  My mom and I questioned whether the Amish would have bars, or whether they would be drinking in the first place.  My mom remarked that it’s a good thing that Amish people don’t have TVs, because you can depict them however you want and no one will complain.

Also in this episode were George Wendt, who played Norm on Cheers, and Monica Horan, who played Amy on Everybody Loves Raymond.  In this episode, they played Amish people.  It’s nice that in the sitcom world, once your sitcom is over, you can just guest star in other sitcoms.  It would be nice if that applied to the real world as well.  If I quit my job, can I just get paid for playing a small role in someone else’s job for a day or two, without making a commitment to it?

Anyway, I think I’ll continue watching it when I can.  I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t love Betty White.  I mean the woman turns 90 years old in a week and is still amazing.  Lucky for me, sitcoms like this one generally don’t require you to watch the series from the beginning in order to understand what’s going on.  After watching one episode, and bits and pieces I remember seeing from a previous one, I think I get it.  And it’s always nice to see that these people are still getting work.

 

Leave a Reply

