Joyful Noise

What movie is that again?  Oh, you know, it’s the choir competition one with Dolly Parton and Queen Latifah.  I know, you’re thinking what, but that’s not in theatres until Friday, how have you seen it already?  Or, more likely, you’re thinking, why?  Simple, my mom won tickets to the preview.  Yeah, it would’ve been nice if she’d won tickets to something I actually wanted to see, but I’ll take what I can get.

I went in with zero expectations.  Because, well, do I really need to explain why?  Dolly Parton’s husband, the choir director dies in the beginning of the film and Queen Latifah is appointed as the new director instead of her.  Based on the commercials for this movie, it looked as though Dolly Parton was the one who was going to be all upset and jealous.  Actually, I found her character to be pretty nice and reasonable.  Queen Latifah was the one who was a self righteous bitch the whole time.  Throughout the movie I kept thinking why is she so bitchy?  As the movie progresses, we see life circumstances that have contributed to said bitchiness, but still.  And to add to this drama, there’s the common love story between Queen Latifah’s daughter and Dolly Parton’s grandson.

You know when you get the DVD for a movie and watch the deleted scenes, and there are some that are completely unnecessary and you can see why they weren’t included in the movie?  I felt like some of the scenes in this movie could fall into that category, except that for some reason, they weren’t deleted.  About 20 minutes into the movie, I thought, how is this going to be 2 hours long?  An example of an unnecessary scene is when they show Queen Latifah in her job at the hospital as a nurse and a patient grabs her arm, causing her to drop a bedpan that she has just removed from his bed.  Literally, that’s the whole scene.  What was the point of that?  My guess is it’s supposed to make us feel sorry for her?  There’s also a scene in which Dolly Parton sings a rather boring song and there’s a vision of her dead husband dancing with her.  The song was really long and repetitive.  I could have done without it.

The singing was generally good though.  I like Keke Palmer, who plays Queen Latifah’s daughter and I think she has a good voice.  I guess Jeremy Jordan was alright too.  Their love story was one of those typical things but I didn’t mind watching it.  I preferred it to seeing Queen Latifah act all moody.

I find that there are some weird people who go to movie previews.  A lot of times during the movie, people in the audience would laugh.  And my mom would turn to me and ask “Why are they laughing?”  And I would respond with “I don’t know!”  After the movie was over, I overheard an older lady beside us saying “Wasn’t that good?  That was so good!”, as if it was the greatest thing she had ever seen.  This confused me.  I’ll say that the movie was okay.  The fact that it was free probably helped.

 

Leave a Reply

